Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20754 Discussions

Small device that can deserialize camera data?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all. I am new to Altera devices so excuse my ignorance if this is an obvious question. 

I am developing an application that uses an Aptina camera device outputting LVDS image data. I want to feed this data into an FPGA for some minor processing and glue logic duties. I need a device that is around 12mm square (or less). 

The camera outputs 12 bit serial packets (10 bit payload plus a start and stop bit) at 324Mhz. So I need a device that can receive at that speed and reconstruct the clock from the data. 

It looks like the Cyclone IV EP4CGX15 comes in an 11mm square package and can do clock reconstruction and certainly support that speed. Can this device support the 12 bit format? 

James
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don't see how it can work with Cyclone IV GX. CDR is only available for Gigabit receivers, they don't work at 324 MBps. Unlike Arria II GX, the device has no soft CDR for LVDS receivers. 

Depending on the signal specification, it may be possible however to perform the clock recovery with a simplified soft CDR based on PLL dynamic phase shift with Cyclone III or IV. There's no Altera IP for it, but the feature is present by design. A Cyclone III SERDES has to be built in logic cells, so it's no problem to design it for an abitrary word length.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I know I'm resurrecting a 3 year old thread here, but I'm looking at doing the same thing using a Stratix IV GX. I expect the ALTLVDS_RX megafunction can be used with a deserialization factor of 6 with the two 6-bit nibbles combined to produce the 12-bit output. I'm hoping the DPA and soft-CDR blocks can still be used in this type of setup. Does that sound right?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II