Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17060 Discussions

I am upgrading my motherboard and case and have a question about my CPU

alexander_jay
Beginner
Hello everyone, I am new to the whole 'building a PC' scenario and I have anenquiry about the method you use to transfer the CPU to a new motherboard.
I have a pentium dual core 2.7ghz E5400 which came with my PC. I am using a case and motherboard which I am currently unsatisfied with; I have looked on Amazon.co.uk at Cases and Motherboards. I am getting the Antec three hundred case and the motherboard I have in mind is the Asus 775 P5QL/EPU motherboard.
All of theperipherals you must have to build a PC I am removing from my current one and placing it onto a new board and slotting the new board into my case.
I will be using my current DVD drive, Hard drive, Graphics card, CPU, CPU cooling fan and sound card.
My question is, clearly my current hard drive has all of the drivers for my computer, but I am worried about when I swap my CPU into the new motherboard that it will not recognise it. Would my hard drive (which came with my CPU) be able to recognise the CPU or will I have to preform some other form of swap?
Let me know, hopefully someone with more skill than me has preformed this operation before and knows what they are talking about.
Thanks much, Alex
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Thomas_W_Intel
Employee
Alex,

It's likely that you need to reinstall the operating system, but this forum is about alpha developer software. You might find better answers in the forum about desktop boards.

Kind regards
Thomas
0 Kudos
Master-Eng_-Pro
Beginner