Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

RDPMC vs. RDMSR and counters for branch predictor

Minjang_Kim
Beginner
I used PAPI on Linux. But, I started to use Intel PCM 2.0 because it supports Windows. I have two questions. I am not an expert on x86 instructions.

(1) Source code of PCM 2.0 shows that it uses MSR register by using RDMSR instruction. I thought that RDPMC (Read Performance Monitoring Counters) was used as it seems to have smaller latency. Is there any reason why PCM uses RDMSR?

(2) Getting L2/L3 misses or hits are already implemented. But, I'm wondering how I can obtain other counters such as counters for branch predictors. In PAPI, I can switch the group of counters to be obtained. Is it possible to do that with PCM 2.0?

Thank you, MJ

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Roman_D_Intel
Employee
Hi MJ,
regarding (1): There are several considerations: RDPMC instruction might be an option for some of the counters accessed by Intel PCM, but not all are accessible through RDPMC (some uncore counters, energy monitors, etc). Also RDPMC is a privileged instruction therefore on some OSes it is easier to use existing kernel drivers (but they usually support only RDMSR instruction) instead of writing a new driver. Kernel driver access also involves an overhead that would reduce the latency savings gained through RDPMC.
regarding (2): Access to user defined counter can be achieved through the custom PCM "program" call: