Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Some hardware and software development questions

AndrewLobley
Novice

Hello, I'm a college student with a major in Software Development, but I wanted to pursue a project for making an amateur computer. I'm having some issues, so I just wanted to reach out and ask a few questions.

1. How many bits for a reasonable computer? I was thinking 8, but getting enough opcodes is a nightmare. I want to strike a good balance between performing multiple operations at once and actually having more than 14 operations. But, the more I have, the less that can be used together. This leads me to my next question, which is:

2. What kind of operations should I have? How many? For what?

3. Registers vs integrated RAM? Specifying an address leads to fewer instructions but more complexity. If I use registers, how can I specify them?

4. What kind of operations should my ALU have? Currently I have addition, inversion, carry and AND operations. By inverting B and carrying in at the same time, subtraction can be performed. I figure that's a low number, but right now I'm seriously restrained by the amount of opcodes I can have.

5. What should my assembly syntax look like? I'd rather start off easy, and I know a fair amount of assembly, but certainly not enough.

6. What are some good resources for learning assembly? 8086 Assembly will probably be the kind I want to learn for this, but x86-64 is something I'd also like to learn.

7. How do assemblers work? I thought of making one in Python and just using string slicing to process operations from an asm file and then outputting the machine code to another file, and I did successfully do that with a previous iteration of my processor, but I couldn't complete that one due to very specific constraints.