Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Trouble finding cache miss rate on Skylake Xeon (Silver 4114)

Fan__Steven
Beginner

Dear all,

I am currently studying about cache miss and trying to collect data of cache miss rate.The machine I am using has a Xeon Silver 4114 processor with a Skylake SP microarchitecture.

Some suggests that miss rate can be calculated by dividing OFFCORE_RESPONSE_0_DATA_IN_LOCAL_DRAM with the sum of MEM_INST_RETIRED_ALL LOADS and MEM_INST_RETIRED_ALL_STORES but I failed to find OFFCORE_RESPONSE_0_DATA_IN_LOCAL_DRAM, I found a counter called OFFCORE_RESPONSE_0_OPTIONS and the MSR value for DATA_IN_LOCAL_DRAM but the result I get is always zero. I am using Stream as the testing program and likwid to collect hardware counters.

I check several forums for the answer and some suggests that Skylake Xeon has a very different flow because of the non-inclusive L3, so I am also wondering if I have to find some other ways to get the miss rate.

Is there any reference I can read or any tools I can use?

Thank you!

Steven

0 Kudos
3 Replies
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

You need to be very clear about what you mean by "cache miss rate".  There are lots of complications....

• Which cache?
    • L1 Instruction Cache
    • L1 Data Cache
    • L2 Unified Cache
    • L3 Shared Cache
  • What transaction types?
    • Local core instruction cache misses
      • demand misses
      • HW prefetch misses
    • Local core loads
      • demand load misses
      • software prefetch load misses
      • L1 HW prefetch load misses
      • L2 HW prefetch load misses
    • Local core stores
      • demand store misses
      • software prefetch store misses
      • L2 HW prefetch store misses
    • Remote core accesses
    • Remote cache accesses
    • IO (DMA) accesses