Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Xeon-D DP flops calculation

Nooraini
Beginner

Hi, 

I'm new to computation and looking into CPU performance benchmarking tools such as Linpack. I'm planning to use the Intel optimized LINPACK benchmark tool to get the floating-point performance. How can we determine the CPU floating-point performance? For example, what is the Xeon D (D-2776NT) DP flops? From the D-2776NT product info here, I can find the base clock at 2.10 GHz with 16cores and AVX-512 (1 FMA). 

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/226239/intel-xeon-d-2776nt-processor-25m-cache-up-to-3-20-ghz.html

Thank you.

Regards,

Nooraini 

0 Kudos
1 Solution
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

The "peak" performance will depend on the average frequency, and that varies by die-to-die variability in the chips and may vary with the effectiveness of the cooling system.

For the Xeon D-2776NT, using either AVX2/FMA or AVX512 code the peak performance is 16 64-bit floating-point operations per cycle per core.

• With AVX2 the limit is 2 VFMA instructions per cycle.  These operate on 256-bit registers --> 4x64 bits, and perform a multiplication and an addition on each element.  2 units * unit width of 4 * 2 FP operations = 16 FP64 operations per cycle.
  • For AVX512 the number is the same, but it comes from 1 512-bit performing the 2 operations on an 8-wide register.