Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7495 討論

Specific game (Counter strike) refuses to work on 5ghz wifi band, is only software that does this

dreamtoimagine
初學者
577 檢視

Hi all, frustrated and tired so any and all help would be appreciated. It's my first time posting so if i'm in the wrong place please let me know.

I just got a new computer with the Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 160MHz wifi card. When connected to the 2.4 ghz band on my router, i have an acceptable ping in games, including CS2, and i can connect to servers just fine, first try, When i switch to my 5ghz band, i can play all other games with the same ping as the 2.4, but cs2 refuses to acknowledge the connection, and says that it can not find any servers (from the settings page). If i try to find a match, it will get glitchy transitions, attempt to connect, connect for a sec to a lobby with mostly bots, then kick me off saying the server host has shut down.

Thinking that the card had some issue with it's 5ghz band i've done nearly every possible adjustment, clearing, and relevant reinstallation and update i could. Finally trying it on another network that also has 2.4 and 5ghz bands, to see if the issue was with the 5ghz bands specifically on this card, and on the new network it works on both bands just fine, no problems. So the only conclusion i can draw, is that for some specific reason, CS2 does not acknowledge my home 5ghz wifi only.

please forgive the word soup, if anyone has dealt with something similar please let me know.

Thank you,

FWIW: i booted up my old laptop, hopped on my home 5ghz wifi and loaded CS2, and it worked fine.

標籤 (1)
0 積分
5 回應
Alberto_R_Intel
538 檢視

dreamtoimagine, Thank you for posting in the Intel® Communities Support.

We will be more than glad to assist you with this matter.