Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16624 Discussions

counter clock latency

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new to QuartusII tool. 

My requirement is to design 16 bit up counter and implement STARTIX II device with 1 clock cycle latency at 300Mhz with Quartus II tool.  

I written simple code as shown below.  

begin 

-- behavior describe the counter 

process(clock, clear) 

begin 

if clear = '1' then 

Pre_Q <= Pre_Q - Pre_Q; 

elsif (clock='1' and clock'event) then 

Pre_Q <= Pre_Q + 1; 

end if; 

end process; 

-- concurrent assignment statement 

Q <= Pre_Q; 

end behv; 

======================================= 

I gave the timing parameters as TSU 3.33 ns and TCO 3.33ns and Max frequency 300Mhz.  

After implementation, results shows TCO is 5.071ns (191Mhz).  

Can i improve the timing by setting any timing parameters or change RTL code . Even i tried mega function , the results are almost same with RTL code.  

Can any one suggest me to improve the timing ?. Is it restriction about STARTIXII devices. I am uising EP2S90F1508C3 device .Suggest me if i need any default settings need to change to improve timing. 

Any inputs will be appreciated .  

Regards, 

sam
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

For a simple counter, the synthesis tool will infer about the same implementation for a counter described in RTL as you will get for a counter implemented with an instantiated megafunction.