Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16639 Discussions

Quartus/FIR Filter/Avalon Streaming Interface/SOPC Builder

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have to build an FIR filter that is being used in a system that requires 2+ separate channels to be pumped through the same filter. I previously was using DSP Builder to build the FIR and I used an Avalon Packet Converter at the front end of the FIR to do the channel separation I needed. Now I am working in Quartus because we have more control of the design. Well, there is no "simple" Avalon device that I can find, other than what they have in SOPC Builder. However, I have never used SOPC Builder before and now I am completely lost on how to build this device. All I really need is to figure out how to attach an Avalon Converter to the front end of the FIR filter so that it will combine the multiple channels to be processes through the FIR. As of now, my device was being built in a schematic, so if I could get my overall device there, that would be great also. Any help is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi dtietz 

What you really need to do is build an Avalon master and/or slave interface for your device. If the data is relatively slow, you can just make the FIR a slave device, that the NIOS supplies the data one sample at a time, but usually, you want to have the FIR be a master device, which can grab data on it's one, from memory. 

If you really don't need the CPU in the system, what I would recommend, is writing the re-use muxing in Verilog. This can mux the data streams, and depending on the speed of the data, keep everything running for you.