Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20722 Discussions

Cyclone III Fails configuration on some of my boards!?!

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I searched for a similar thread, but didn't find quite this same problem, so I registered and thought I'd ask the community for some help. 

I've been developing a Cyclone III system for a few months now, and we have our own boards back. In the test harness, they work nicely. I can JTAG them, and flash the EPCS16 AS configuration. (The device is an EP3C16M164I7... the itty bitty MBGA.) However, our board isn't really meant to be JTAG'd in the end application, so when we remove our board from its test harness that gives us JTAG and just put a copy of the EPCS16 onto it, it fails configuration. i.e. we get a fresh board that's never been JTAG'd and put a copy of the good EPCS16 on it, and when that new board boots, it fails. 

On the O-scope, I see about 36.16 uSec of data coming across the AS SPI configuration bus, and then it stops. It's only about 100KB of data by my back of the envelope math. That's FAR FAR less than what I see when I put the scope on the EPCS16 of the board that's in the test harness.  

Something is obviously halting the configuration. We've cloned the "good" EPCS16, and we've even desoldered and swapped the EPCS16s, yet the behavior stays with the board, and not the device. 

We were brainstorming, wondering if the bitfile is somehow linked to the Device ID through some setting I haven't found. (I was using compressed bitstream.)  

It could also be a bad board, but I'm hoping that's not the case. I'd like to exhaust all other options before I conclude that. 

The system involves a NiosII as well. It boots out of the EPCS16 after the Cyclone III configs itself. (Probably old hat to all of you guys.) That all works correctly on the first board.