Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16624 Discussions

Intrroducing delay at pin level

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All, 

I am new to the Quartus tool, I just need your help to solve my doubts. 

I wanted to that "How to introduce output delay at pin level" 

Example: I have two input signals inp1, inp2 and two output signal op1 , op2 

op1 <= not inp1; 

op2 <= not inp2; 

So if you see both outputs behaves same way., because the are implemented using not gate.. 

Now I need let say 10 ns more delay at op2 compare to op1 on the real hard ware.. 

So achieve this what kind of constraints I have to give. 

Thanks in advance 

Pavan M
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I suggest you to use a synchronous approach to this problem. You should use a clock with period equal to the desired delay and use a simple VHDL block to produce the output after a clock edge. 

The asynchronous solutions are always less reliable than the synchronous ones, so I don't recommend you to use them.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes; I do agree with your answer. But In this case op1 and op2 are going to the buffer chip as enable and direction. Here the generation of the op1 and op2 shall be independent of clock. Its a requirement, so I cannot use the clock to do this. op1 is going as enable to the data buffer, op2 is going as direction to the data buffer. Now first i have to set the direction and then I have to give the enable. the delay between these shall be at least 5 ns.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Why can't you use a clock for introducing this delay?  

:confused:
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I cant use clock, because its a requirement. Clock shall not be used to generate the enable signals to the Data buffer.