Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16613 Discussions

Viewing variable values in VHDL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I am quite new to VHDL and Quartus II. 

I have coded a 16x8 RAM using VHDL in Quartus but I don't know how to check it because I cannot view the array variable where the data is stored in waveform simulation.  

Is there anyway I can check the contents of the array..? Maybe by other means..? 

Please advice.. Thanks..
0 Kudos
19 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What simulation tool are you using? In most simulation programs you can set which format you want to view data in, an array can be handy to show in hex for example. 

//Ola
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the reply.. 

I am using Functional Simulation. I have heard of testbenches but don't really know how to use it..  

What I hope to achieve is to be able to know what data is actually written into and stored in the array when data is written through the Data pins (declared as "inout std_logic_vector (7 downto 0)") during the writing process and, to be able to view the data output through the Data pins during reading process.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your problems sounds quite simple, there must be an easy way to display arrays, but since I've never used the altera simulation I can't help you there.  

I've looked around here on the forum before and people tend to think that modelsim has many advantages. If you like I can send you a design file with corresponding test bench and a do file. Just reply with your email. What you then is to start a modelsim project, compile the file and write "do <file.do>". Very simple. 

//Ola
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes please.. 

I've already PMed u the email.. 

Thanks..
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II