Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16623 Discussions

Simulation Results Always Show Don't Care?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All, 

I am very new at digital design and am learning on an Altera DE2-70 using VHDL. I have the following code snippet which always shows "Don't Care (XXX)" for the simulation results (clkOut). Can anyone help? The code basically takes clkIn and generates a clkOut whose period is given by the number of input clkIn clocks. I have also attached a Quartus II project archive if anyone cares to run the simulation. 

Thanks. 

-- Frequency Divider (must be multiple of 2) -- Author : Hitesh Patel, October 2008 -- blog.nirosoftware.com -- LIBRARY ieee; USE ieee.std_logic_1164.all; USE ieee.std_logic_arith.all; USE ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all; ENTITY FrequencyDivider IS GENERIC (NumBits : INTEGER := 26); PORT( clkIn : IN STD_LOGIC; divisor : IN STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(NumBits-1 DOWNTO 0); -- 26 bits, must be multiple of 2 clkOut : BUFFER STD_LOGIC := '1'); END FrequencyDivider; ARCHITECTURE FrequencyDivider OF FrequencyDivider IS BEGIN PROCESS(clkIn) VARIABLE count : STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(NumBits-2 DOWNTO 0); BEGIN IF(clkIn'EVENT AND (clkIn = '1')) THEN count := count + 1; END IF; IF(count = divisor(NumBits-2 DOWNTO 1)) THEN clkOut <= NOT clkOut; count := (OTHERS => '0'); END IF; END PROCESS; END FrequencyDivider;
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I suggest don't use buffer ports. Instead use an internal signal in order to have internal access

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It basically don't work to have part of the clock divider logic outside the clock edge sensitive condition. This way, no Flipflop for clkOut can be inferred. 

There may be also a problem in comparing signals of different bitwidth.