Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

General question about ideal development system

dave_matsumoto
Beginner
I apologize in advance if this is a total newbie question. I did some searching here on the forums and couldn't find the answer I was looking for.

I'm nearing the end of my VTune trial, and liked the tool. However, there were several cases where I guess I gathered a lot of data, and my system slowed to a crawl because it started swapping to disk. I am on a quad-core Intel based Dell with 4GB of RAM under Windows XP (ok, so 3GB RAM).

I am seriously considering the purchase of a system with a lot more RAM, so that basically forces me to move to Windows XP x64. However, I do 100% of my development on 32 bit apps. Can anyone here tell me if it's a mistake for me to do my 32 bit development under Windows XP x64 with VS2008 + the Intel performance tools?

Thanks!
0 Kudos
4 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III
Not to answer all of your questions, but it's entirely reasonable to develop and test both 32- and 64-bit applications on XP X64.
0 Kudos
dave_matsumoto
Beginner
Thanks for the response, Tim. I failed to add more detail to my original post, though. Basically, since VS2008 is strictly a 32bit app and has the ~3GB memory limit, will going to x64 help me at all? In other words, would the Intel tools be able to take advantage of the extra memory addressable by the x64 OS, either XP or Vista? That's my biggest concern, as I don't want to fork out a ton of cash on a beast of a system, only to find out that all of that memory is basically useless. :)
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III