Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4994 Discussions

Help for using VTune in Linux

ankit_agarwal
Beginner
Hi,
I have installed VTune in Fedora 10. I also saw the example that it has.
I am quite new to these things and I am really having a hard time figuring out things.
My application has the binary and libs separate and its get loaded at runtime.
Whenever i try to give the binary to VTune, it doesnt accept it and ask for the binary again.
I can't understand what could be the reason. I am sure there is something very basic that I am not taking care of.

Thanks.
Regards,
Ankit.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
srimks
New Contributor II
Quoting - ankit_agarwal
Hi,
I am quite new to these things and I am really having a hard time figuring out things.
Whenever i try to give the binary to VTune, it doesnt accept it and ask for the binary again.
I can't understand what could be the reason. I am sure there is something very basic that I am not taking care of.

Thanks.
Regards,
Ankit.

Ankit.

Did you had any chance to go through examples of "Getting_Started" VTunedocument. Please refer this document and go through the examples and steps as suggested for all three - First Use Wizard, Call Graph & Event Based Sampling.

~BR
0 Kudos
ankit_agarwal
Beginner
Quoting - srimks
Quoting - ankit_agarwal
Hi,

Thanks.
Regards,
Ankit.

Ankit.

Did you had any chance to go through examples of "Getting_Started" VTune document. Please refer this document and go through the examples and steps as suggested for all three - First Use Wizard, Call Graph & Event Based Sampling.

~BR
Hi,
I'd go through that document. I tries out with the sample that is givein along with the vTune. But, when I am trying to do the same with my application, it just isn't working.
The problem even after giving the binary to VTune, it asks for the executable.
Please suggest.

Regards,
Ankit.
0 Kudos
srimks
New Contributor II
Quoting - ankit_agarwal
Quoting - srimks