Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

Help using Vtune for hardware performance counter monitoring

Rene_P_
Beginner

Hi All,

I am new to Vtune, I have few basic questions to get me started using it, please help me out.

I am working on a XEON E5345 processor and I want to few monitor hardware performance events (like L1 misses, L2 hits/misses, LLC hits/misses etc) using Vtune's command line interface. I was reading through some guides and the user forum and I think I can use vtune like :-

amplxe-cl -collect-with runsa -knob event-config=CPU_CLK_UNHALTED.CORE:sa=1000000 -- C:\test\sample.exe

My questions are:-

a) I want to know what are all the different kind of events available on my system for monitoring. Is there any limitation as to what all and how many events can be monitored together?

b) Also, I found something about a "collect general exploration" analysis option with vtune, how is it different from running vtune with the "collect-with" and "runsa" option.

Thanks for your help.

- Rene

0 Kudos
14 Replies
David_A_Intel1
Employee

Hi Rene:

Yes, you should read up on General Exploration and utilize this predefined set of events, which basically collects information on all areas of processor efficiency, including cache metrics.  The product documentation is available online (Windows* | Linux*), as well as on the system after installation. This would be a good place to start. 

Events are specific to a processor.  To view all available events on the current system from the command line, execute the command 'amplxe-runss -event-list'.  And, while the VTune Amplifier XE documentation includes descriptions, the authoritative guide to processor events is the Software Developer Manual (SDM).  Volume 3 includes info on performance monitoring.