Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

How can I count my program's MIPS by using VTune?

zhe_huangge_com
Beginner
I have implement my function on Intel Core2 Duo CPU U7700 @ 1.33Ghz using C++. I need to move my program to an low cost platform, so I need to know the MIPS of my program.
I am a beginner of Vtune. But I think vtune can help me to count MIPS. Are there anyone can help me? Thanks a lot.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
MIPS means Million Instructions Per Second. However Intel VTune Performance Analyzer sampling collector provides CPI (Cycles per Instruction) datafor specific process/thread/module/function (average value).

Sampling captures data for total instructions retired and clock ticks, calculate CPI based on the formula:
CPI = total cycles / total instructions retired, which was generated / reported by the tool.

MIPS value is NOT calculated by the tool, but the user can calculate it as -
MIPS = (total instruction retired / duration) /1,000,000

* total instruction retired & duration (seconds) are resultsofbasic sampling collector.

Regards, Peter
0 Kudos
zhe_huangge_com
Beginner

Peter, Thank you for you advice.
My question is the event INST_RETIRED.ANY can collect every instruction retired? If Vtune collect event send by CPU, It will make my code run slowly?If Vtunecollectevent CPU_CLK_UNHALTED.CORE, my program will be interputed every clock? So, if I use Vtune collect event, my program be influenced?
Thanks a lot.

0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
  • INST_RETIRED.ANY will be used, the result will be displayed in report. Please use eventnumber, not samples
  • Sampling only has a little overhead to capture data,about extra 1% time. Don't impactyour program's performance very high

Regards, Peter

0 Kudos
zhe_huangge_com
Beginner
Thanks, Peter