Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

How to choose the (correct) CPU for profiling?

Toby
Beginner

I'm quite new to vTune profileing so I'm guessing this is a simple question: When  choosing the analysis type, I can see for the event details: "Event configured for CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) E5 processor". But the processor for the profiled hardware is Intel Core i7-3930K. Why does it say that it is a Xeon processor and is the test metrics collected inaccurate due to this?

I reckon that vTune is able to read the processor type on the computer being tuned. I guess one answer could be that that i7 desktop architecture is based on the server Xeon architecture so that the profiler sees no difference?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
David_A_Intel1
Employee

Hi Tobias:

Yes, there were some processors released as high performance desktop chips that are based on the server processors.  Yours appears to be a Sandy Bridge-E part.

Where do you see "Event configured for CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) E5 processor" in the display?  Is that in the event reference documentation?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
David_A_Intel1
Employee

Hi Tobias:

Yes, there were some processors released as high performance desktop chips that are based on the server processors.  Yours appears to be a Sandy Bridge-E part.

Where do you see "Event configured for CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) E5 processor" in the display?  Is that in the event reference documentation?

0 Kudos
Toby
Beginner

Ok, I see. Thanks. But that this mean that the processor is actually not a Core i7-3930K brand but rather a Xeon E5-16xx as the Wikipedia Sandy Bridge-E documentation (in overview section) seem to hint? The Wikipedia documentation is a bit confusing too me also since it says it is 8 core based though this Core i7-3930K processor is 6 core only. Btw: Windows 7 states it is a Core i7-3930K processor and not a Xeon.