Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
5019 Discussions

Vtune can't open result on Apple m1 Macos 11.2.3

chenmao
Beginner
3,812 Views

 

chenmao_0-1619352225850.png

 

0 Kudos
11 Replies
AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
3,777 Views

Hi,

 

Thanks for reaching out to us.

We are working on it internally. We will get back to you soon.

 

Thanks.

 

0 Kudos
Jennifer_D_Intel
Moderator
3,731 Views

Thank you for providing the error and crash log. The developers are still looking into the cause of the crash. The insufficient permissions error generally indicates that the result is already open, whether trying to do a comparison or in another instance of VTune. How it's related to the crash log I am not sure at this point. Did you run the VTune collection on the same machine?


0 Kudos
chenmao
Beginner
3,725 Views

Result collection from other linux machine,i just open result in my mac. I was confused about the insufficient permissions error,even i run shell with sudo.

0 Kudos
Jennifer_D_Intel
Moderator
3,712 Views

Somehow the database VTune uses is locked, which usually happens when the result is open in another instance of VTune. This can also happen if a comparison is done using a result that is already open. There may have been a problem with the collection which left the db in a locked state, or some problem with opening the result on the Mac. I'll need to do some more investigation.


0 Kudos
chenmao
Beginner
3,693 Views
0 Kudos
Jennifer_D_Intel
Moderator
3,663 Views

Thank you for the new crash report. According to the development team there will be a fix in the next update of VTune, 2021.4.


0 Kudos
Mariya_P_Intel
Moderator
3,644 Views

Hi, VTune 2021.4.0 was released.

Please check the fix of issue and let us know the result.

You may download online- or offline installer here:

https://registrationcenter-download.intel.com/akdlm/irc_nas/tec/17867/m_oneapi_vtune_p_2021.4.0.364.dmg

https://registrationcenter-download.intel.com/akdlm/irc_nas/tec/17867/m_oneapi_vtune_p_2021.4.0.364_offline.dmg

Thanks, Mariya


0 Kudos
chenmao
Beginner
3,620 Views

still error

[2021-06-11T08:39:10.049Z] Error: Failed to create app directory: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir '/Users/chenmao/.intel/amplxe-frontend'
at /opt/intel/oneapi/vtune_profiler/2021.4.0/Intel oneAPI VTune Profiler 2021.4.0.app/Contents/Resources/app/scripts/appdirs.js:31:46

0 Kudos
Mariya_P_Intel
Moderator
3,598 Views

Dear @chenmao,

It seems to be the limitation of M1 as vtune system requirement is to use Intel processor: https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/articles/vtune-profiler-system-requirements.html

As a workaround, I would recommend to view results via web-browser on your Mac laptop: need to run VTune Server on target machine (where you collect the results)

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/vtune-help/top/installation/install-web-server.html

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/vtune-help/top/launch/web-server-ui.html

Sorry for inconvenience,

Mariya


0 Kudos
lawben
Beginner
3,180 Views

@Mariya_P_Intel , are there any plans to support this in future versions? I understand that VTune will never fully run on the M1 chips (for obvious reasons of M1 not being Intel or x86) but at least for presentation of remote collection this would be great to have.

0 Kudos
Mariya_P_Intel
Moderator
3,174 Views

Hi @lawben , there are no plans for it now.

0 Kudos
Reply