Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

coarse grain split of the types of cycles executed

titanius_anglesmith
I am new to vtune, many of the performance counters are new to me and the manual 3B is huge :(

is there a way to gain a ratio split between types of cycles executed, just the ratio between int,mem and floating cycles executed per unit time (its fine that SSE* are bunched together in floats etc)? A rough split like for a process A running 100% on a core, 30% was for int, 30% for float and 40% was for memory.

This is on a i7, and i am currently using information via instruction_retired.any, memory_inst_retired.loads/stores and fp_comp_ops_exe.* . I am guessing that summing fp_comp_ops_exe should give me some kind of float metric and some metric for memory via memory_instr_retired.loads/stores. I am confused about what to normalize these metrics with and whether there is better (perf counters) way to get information.

The nearest thread i found mentioned using SIMD_INST_RETIRED but that seems to be absent on i7 (vtl doesn't do anything when this event is tried) http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/showthread.php?t=65527

Thanks!
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
I am new to vtune, many of the performance counters are new to me and the manual 3B is huge :(

is there a way to gain a ratio split between types of cycles executed, just the ratio between int,mem and floating cycles executed per unit time (its fine that SSE* are bunched together in floats etc)? A rough split like for a process A running 100% on a core, 30% was for int, 30% for float and 40% was for memory.