Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

installation problem

kinek
Beginner
hey all,

during the installation i got this error message:
Thu 08 14:02:43 Failed - Cannot get shared lock on RPM Database

do anybody know what to do?

thanks for helping
tomas g.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

Message Edited by tim18 on 08-25-2004 03:48 PM

0 Kudos
kinek
Beginner
hey tcprince,

yes, i was su while starting the installation script. I'm a linux beginner: How can i know if a process locks the rpm database. And if i locate that process, what should i do? Just kill the process?

thanks for helping
tomas g.

0 Kudos
jeffrey-gallagher
Hey kinek,

Did you use "su" or "su -"?

:)

Generally speaking, it's not a good idea just to kill a process, what some textbooks call "going for the jugular." Typically we want a process to shut itself down in an elegant and unforced manner, closing any open work files it may have opened along the way, stopping any child processes that may have been forked, bringing the process to a planned finish. By killing (especially with a -9 option) you can actually cause trouble, including filesystem corruption and binary failures.

What you might want to do next varies on whether or not this Linux server only has one user on it (you), or many users who are doing work on it.

If this is your Linux server, and you're the only user and system admin, you should reboot the server and after it comes back up, see if the rpm process is gone (probably the case unless something very weird happened during OS installation)

If you're not the system administrator, you need to ask the help of the system administrator to get this software installed. (It requires a reboot, for example: only admin can do that.)