Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4994 Discussions

read performance counter values periodically

edisonying1984
Beginner
Hi all,
I am a newbie to Intel forum. I'm not sure if this is the correct subforum to post this thread; if not, please forward it to the correct place.
I am working on a project using hardware performance monitoring counters. In my current implementation, the counter values are read through a file under /proc (thus I need to create a proc_entry before the sampling and read the values to this file during execution), and the samplings are implemented by inserting a task into the delayed work queue. By doing this, I am able to read the performance counter values at fixed time intervals, say, once a second.
However, I want to read the counters in another way. Namely, rather than collect those counters every second, I would like to read them after one million instructions are executed. That is, read the counter values when 1M, 2M, 3M....instructions are executed. I have no clue on this change.
Can anyone give me a hint on this? Any suggestions will be appreciated.
By the way, I am using Fedora 13 with kernel 2.6.33.
Thanks
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
It seems that you captures samples by using your implementation, not use VTune Amplifier XE. VTune captures samples when event counter registers underflow (set event number first, then decrease when event occurred).

Inyour project, youmay do same wayof VTune Amplifier XE - set event counter number (1M?) for Instruction Retired event (other event counter registers will be cleaned as zero), then your application will run - if1M instruction will be executed, underflow will happen, then read preferred performance counter values.

Regards, Peter
P.S> This forum isfor talking about usingVTune product, problem, solution, etc.
0 Kudos
edisonying1984
Beginner
Hi Peter,