Application Acceleration With FPGAs
Programmable Acceleration Cards (PACs), DCP, FPGA AI Suite, Software Stack, and Reference Designs
477 Discussions

What does Performance saturation mean when we Increase SIMD size?

MAsla5
Beginner

Hi,

I am accelerating my application on altera FPGA, When I go with SIMD 32 the resources drops apart of increasing. I studied somewhere that its a performance saturation. My question is, how to prove it? Where could i find the answer of this question? Could i find in report somewhere?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,

May I know the "When I go with SIMD 32 the resources drops apart of increasing", is mean by you are incresing the SIMD work item to 32, am I right?

Thanks

0 Kudos
MAsla5
Beginner

Hi,

Yes, you're right, Usually, if resources are used more than hundred percent , then offline compilation is terminated but what happens in case of SIMD 32?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
MAsla5
Beginner

Hi,

When is see reports, there are only two memory banks created . In case of 16, there are only 16 memory banks that i can see in reports.

Is there any memory bound issue? If it is, then what it is? Please guide me in this matter.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,

May I have the kernel code and report file for further investigate?

Thanks

0 Kudos
MAsla5
Beginner

Hi ,

You can feel the same bevaior with intel DESIGN example of matrix multiplication. I have checked with that as well.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
MAsla5
Beginner

posted a file.

Hi,

Here you can find the attached file.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
HRZ
Valued Contributor III