Developing Games on Intel Graphics
If you are gaming on graphics integrated in your Intel Processor, this is the place for you! Find answers to your questions or post your issues with PC games
492 Discussions

Intel Iris Xe and DirectX Display Problems

wdolson
Beginner

I'm a software engineer who is working with a team developing a game that uses DirectX.  Because of my hardware experience I have been handed a problem that is occurring on a couple of beta testers computers.  The Preference screen drawn with DirectX shows up with just black blobs for text.  Additionally the map for the game doesn't draw, the screen is just green with the icons that go on the map sitting on the green.

We bought the same spec computer as one of the beta testers and the problem repeats there too.  All three of the computers are laptops running Windows 11 with an Nvidia GPU as well as the Intel Iris.  At least on the machine I'm testing the Intel Iris is the primary by default.  The version of the driver on the test computer I have is 31.0.101.4575 dated 7/11/2023.  Microsoft Update claims there is nothing newer.

I see on the Intel support site that there is something a little newer.  I tried installing that 31.0.101.5448 with no difference.

In testing I was able to get the graphics to draw correctly if I disabled the Intel Iris in Device Manager. The problem is definitely tied to the Intel Iris.  I have been asking the beta testers if anyone has a machine with just an Intel Iris and nothing else, but so far we haven't encountered that configuration.

The two beta testers with a laptop with the Intel Iris and Nvidia GPU are different brands with different Nvidia GPUs.  One is a Dell with a GeForce RTX 3070  Ti, and I have that same configuration here for testing.  The other is an HP with a GeForce MX570 A.  The second beta tester was in Germany.  I don't have access to that configuration, but he's seeing the same bug.