Embedded Intel Atom® Processors
Technological Conversations about Intel Atom® Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics
1153 Discussions

Crown Bay Boot Loader Development Kit (Intel(R) BLDK) Core 1.3.6.21

DGabl1
Beginner

Hello,

Firstly, if this is not the appropriate forum for this I would appreciate guidance on which would be a better choice.

I am trying to get up to speed with the kit listed in the title, Linux, and the BLDK Development environment. I have successfully downloaded and extracted this BLDK into the ~/core directory for it, I also have the BLDK development environment running under Fedora 14.

Where can a total newbie to this development environment go to start learning how to build a .bin image for download to the Crown Bay reference platform using the development application. I've been beating my head on this for a little while and should have asked sooner.

I have gotten a rom.bin file to make from the command line and flashed it to the board. Unfortunately I don't know what behavior to expect from the base software provided by Intel.

Thanks,

Dennis

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MHolz1
Novice

Hello Dennis,

i assume you are useing Crown Bay as reference Hardware.

The ReleaseNotes Documents for 1.3.6.21 describes what the sample configuration does:

"The sample firmware performs common hardware initialization tasks, then

transfers control to a shell with several commands installed for debugging and

booting. The user console is configured for input and output via the primary

serial port on the board at 115200 baud, 8 data bits, 1 stop bit, no parity,

and no flow control.

Several useful commands are installed into the shell including the following:

- ymodem: transfers files from a host to the target using a serial port

- flash: programs a new firmware image into the boot ROM

- bootpnp: attempts to boot using a user-specified expansion ROM

A complete list of available commands can be displayed using the "help"