GPU Compute Software
Ask questions about Intel® Graphics Compute software technologies, such as OpenCL* GPU driver and oneAPI Level Zero
165 Discussions

It's like OpenCL kernel instance ends abruptly

heysweetethan
Beginner

I'm posting the same question from "https://stackoverflow.com/questions/72357676/its-like-opencl-kernel-instance-ends-abruptly"

I'm new to OpenCL and I'm working on converting an existing algorithm to OpenCL. In this process, I am experiencing a phenomenon that I cannot solve on my own, and I would like to ask some help.

Here's details.

My kernel is applied to images of different size (to be precise, each layer of the Laplacian pyramid).

I get normal results for images of larger size such as 3072 x 3072, 1536 x 1536. But I get abnormal results for smaller images such as 12 x 12, 6 x 6, 3 x 3, 2 x 2.

At first, I suspected that clEnqueueNDRangeKernel had a bottom limit for dimensions, causing this problem. So, I added printf to the beginning of the kernel as follows. It is confirmed that all necessary kernel instances are executed.

__kernel void GetValueOfB(/* parameters */)
{
    uint xB = get_global_id(0);
    uint yB = get_global_id(1);
    printf("(%d, %d)\n", xB, yB);

// calculation code is omitted
 }

So after wandering for a while, I added the same printf to the end of the kernel. When I did this, it was confirmed that printf works only for some pixel positions. For pixel positions not output by printf, the calculated values in the resulting image are incorrect, and as a result, I concluded that some kernel instances terminate abnormally before completing the calculations.

__kernel void GetValueOfB(/* parameters */)
{
    uint xB = get_global_id(0);
    uint yB = get_global_id(1);

// calculation code is omitted

}