Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
21079 Discussions

Cannot get higher than 1920x1080 with HD 630 and Dell Precision 3431

bobj99
Beginner

I am a long time IT Professional & I am pulling my hair out.  Need help please.

Ive been searching for weeks for answers, removing drivers, reinstalling drivers, changing cables, changing monitors - but I cant get a resolution higher than 1920x1080 under Windows 10.   Windows 7 was perfect.

Issue Description:

I have a quite new Dell Precision 3431 workstation running latest version Windows 10 all up to date with Windows updates and Dell BIOS / patches. Spec is as follows;

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9500 CPU @ 3.00GHz
GFX Driver Name: Intel® UHD Graphics 630
Shared RAM: 8 GB
Max Supported Displays: 3
GFX Vulcan: 1.2.187
GFX GOP: 9.0.1085

It is attached via Display port to a 4K BenQ EL2870U display
Connector Type: DisplayPort  

**I have tried 2 cables, both brand new, both work 4k res on other systems and with Windows 7**

I have removed, clean reinstalled all versions of drivers I can find including;

I think ive tried a v31 also.  Cant find the exact point version atm.

Ive also installed, reinstalled Intel Command Centre.

The attached command centre diagnositc log shows my resolution SHOULD go higher, but when I "list modes" any resolution higher than 1920x1080 is not listed.  See screen shot.

Any help please?  Dell wont help.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Steven_Intel

Hello bobj99,

Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.

In order to better assist you, please provide the following information:

• If possible, provide a screenshot showing the resolution options in Intel® Graphics Command Center.
  • The graphics report shows the current resolution is 1920x1080, are you trying to set it with a specific refresh rate?