Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20495 Discussions

Using 3rd party EDID apps to modify modes

Bryce__Intel
Employee

Hello all,

I'm starting this discussion space as somewhere to post tips, tricks, and difficulties to discuss EDID modification. If you have a question or comment, post it here and help your fellow users by answering their questions.

0 Kudos
23 Replies
DRosa2
Beginner

Hi Bryce! I'm basically a newbie when it comes to EDID modification and all this stuff. I just want to overclock my laptop's display to run at 1024x768 at 75 Hz so I can play CS:GO more fluently. I already tried the Intel HD Graphics Control Panel and Custom Resolution Utility, but both don't work. How do I increase my laptop monitor's refresh rate?

0 Kudos
llybx
New Contributor I

Use https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU

I used the detailed resolutions ones at native resolution at 74hz. It somehow also adds 74hz on every resolution other than the native resolution.

0 Kudos
DRosa2
Beginner

As I said, CRU doesn't work

0 Kudos
llybx
New Contributor I

oh, just looked at your driver version. you can't overclock your monitor on that version. have to be version 4624 or higher.

0 Kudos
DRosa2
Beginner

Updated, but CRU still doesn't work for me

0 Kudos
llybx
New Contributor I

Did you restart after applying the changes in CRU?

Just Restarting the Graphics Drivers won't work,have to fully restart windows.

It should works, It works with my i5-4210h.

0 Kudos
DRosa2
Beginner

Do we have the same laptop?

Yup, it works, but after setting it to 75 Hz the screen just goes black and reverts, which is weird since 1024x768@75Hz has lesser effective MHz that 1366x767@60Hz.

0 Kudos
DRosa2
Beginner