Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.

Smart Response on Vpro

David_Pike
Beginner
I am just getting started with Vpro. I have a new system with Intel DQ67SW motherboard and i7-2600. I have a 500GB HDD and an 80GB Intel 320 SDD which I want to use as a disk buffer (i.e. Smart Response).

At first boot, I opened the BIOS and changed the Chipset SATA Mode to RAID, then installed Windows to the HDD, and installed all of the software and drivers that came with the Intel MB. I opened the RST software, expecting I could enable the "accelerate mode", but I can't find it.

What have I done wrong? Or better yet, what must I do?

Thanks kindly.
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Gael_H_Intel
Hi David,
Well, the easy answer is that the Intel Smart Response Technology is brand new, coming out in the 3rd Gen processors. Bad news: your board does not support the new processors. The good news is that they will co-exist together, these technologies, it's just that they aren't available yet. The other good news is that the processor launch has happened so they will be available soon.
You should be able to consult that ark.intel.com link that I provided above in order to match up the technologies that you want with the processors, boards, etc.
And as far as the "Smart Response" being a terrible name... I'm sorry.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Gael_H_Intel
Hi David - are you asking about Intel Rapid Storage Technology? (This is different from Intel Smart Response Technology.) Here is a link to this desktop board and its capabilities.
Since it sounds like you are trying to get the Rapid Storage Technology working, here is a link to some instructions:http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/imsm/sb/CS-022830.htm
0 Kudos
David_Pike
Beginner