Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.
1381 Discussions

Using Serial Over LAN to do remote gdb or some sort of kernel debugger

creatiwit
Beginner
Can I attach a remote debugger over SOL like I would do using a normal serial port and null modem cable ? Has anyone tried it or had success with it ?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Andrew_S_Intel2
Employee
I've never tried using gdb in a remote session before, so I can't say for certain. But theoretically it should be possible, given that the OS views the SOL session as another serial port. It might be more complicated since authorization is needed to establish the SOL session, unlike just connecting to a serial port.

I'll attach a couple of links on advanced uses of the SOL session, maybe one of them will give you enough information to answer your question.

http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/using-intel-amt-serial-over-lan-to-the-fullest/

http://www.intel.com/technology/itj/2008/v12i4/1-paper/3-serial-over-lan.htm
0 Kudos
creatiwit
Beginner
I've never tried using gdb in a remote session before, so I can't say for certain. But theoretically it should be possible, given that the OS views the SOL session as another serial port. It might be more complicated since authorization is needed to establish the SOL session, unlike just connecting to a serial port.

I'll attach a couple of links on advanced uses of the SOL session, maybe one of them will give you enough information to answer your question.

http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/using-intel-amt-serial-over-lan-to-the-fullest/

http://www.intel.com/technology/itj/2008/v12i4/1-paper/3-serial-over-lan.htm

So, getty on the linux side will connect to the VT100 terminal on the MTK Commander. For remote debug to work all i need on the MTK side is some sort of virtual serial port emulation, to which i can attach hyperterm or something similar. Is that possible ?
0 Kudos