Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.
6392 Discussions

OpenVINO model optimizer fails for YOLO-tiny ONNX conevrsion

christophebrown
Beginner

Hello everyone,

To preface, I am a new grad student working on a research project, so very new to the OpenVINO platform, and doing what I can to learn so that I can use the toolkit to make interesting projects. 

Today I installed the newest version of the toolkit for MacOS (2020.2). My goal was to use the model optimizer for an ONNX implementation of YOLO-tiny Neural Network with hopes of running on an Intel Neural Compute Stick 2. To start, I created a virtual environment on my Anaconda navigator, installed the respective dependencies for the toolkit, and installed it. All files were found and looked to have installed smoothly. 

Fast forward, I downloaded an ONNX model of YOLO-tiny here: https://github.com/onnx/models

I had expected to be able to convert the onnx model to the .xml and .bin intermediate representation files as instructed here: https://docs.openvinotoolkit.org/2020.2/_docs_MO_DG_prepare_model_convert_model_Convert_Model_From_ONNX.html

When running on the command line the command below:

python3 mo_onnx.py --input_model <INPUT_MODEL>.onnx

I failed with this output:

(openvino)[redacted]:model_optimizer [redacted]$ python mo_onnx.py --input_model /Users/[redacted]/openvino/tiny-yolov3-11.onnx 
Model Optimizer arguments:
Common parameters:
	- Path to the Input Model: 	/Users/[redacted]/openvino/tiny-yolov3-11.onnx
	- Path for generated IR: 	/opt/intel/openvino_2020.2.117/deployment_tools/model_optimizer/.
	- IR output name: 	tiny-yolov3-11
	- Log level: 	ERROR
	- Batch: 	Not specified, inherited from the model
	- Input layers: 	Not specified, inherited from the model
	- Output layers: 	Not specified, inherited from the model