Intel® Embree Ray Tracing Kernels
Discussion forum on the open source ray tracing kernels for fast photo-realistic rendering on Intel® CPU(s)
280 Discussions

Issue with flase Geometry IDs when intersecting RTC_GEOMETRY_TYPE_USER with Embree

s_schimper
Novice

Hello,

I am a beginner with Embree and I would not call myself an experienced programmer too. I have an issue, which I was not able to resolve by myself, I hope it is okay to seek for help in this forum.

Currently, I am working on integrating Embree into our own rendering engine. My issue is, that Embree seemingly confuses the Geometry IDs.

For example, I have a simple scene, including a sphere with an infinite diameter and a cube at the world origin. Here is an extract of what I get when I print some intersection information:

embree3.png

The primitive IDs and the values for tfar in the red rectangle are correct, however, the geometry IDs are wrong (they should be 0 instead of 1). 

This is causing some visual artifacts, e.g.  like in this scene:

embree1.jpg

On the left side is my scene how it is supposed to look like and on the right, how it actually looks.

The geometries I want to intersect are of type RTC_GEOMETRY_TYPE_USER. In the intersection callback function I am passing to Embree I just set the geometry ID of the intersected geometry, so I can calculate the intersection with our renderer's intern intersection function outside the callback function (calculating the intersection with our own function in the callback function caused some bugs, but that is an issue of our renderer).

What I noticed during debugging was that when I enter the first line of the intersection callback function, the tfar value of the "geomID" of the "RTCIntersectFunctionArguments* args" was not the same as the "geomID" of the rayHit of "RTCIntersectFunctionArguments* args" (if that helps or makes sense).

Here are my functions. They are written in C and Objective-C.

The general intersect function: