Intel® Embree Ray Tracing Kernels
Discussion forum on the open source ray tracing kernels for fast photo-realistic rendering on Intel® CPU(s)
279 Discussions

rendering engine - material configuration

Cyril_D_
Beginner

Hi,

First, thanks so much for releasing such a powerfull library with such an easy to use API.

I have no experience at all with raytracers and despite all the warnings, so far I've found the rendering engine to be complete enough to achieve amazing results really fast. I made a little OpenFrameworks addon that allows to render OF geometries with the interactive renderer : https://github.com/kikko/ofxEmbree

However, I'm now trying to implement more defaults material, and I'm a bit struggling to find documentation on the different parameters for the materials. Looking at the provided examples I've managed to extract some information but I would like to know if these refer to any raytracing standards and if I can find documentation online about them. I haven't managed to google my way though that :(

So if anyone is able to share some information / link on any of these params, that would be of great help! Thanks!

//glass && Dielectric
float3 transmission;
float etaOutside;
float etaInside;

float3 transmissionOutside;

// MetallicPaint
float eta;
float3 shadeColor;
float3 glitterColor;
float glitterSpread;

// Metal
float3 k;
float roughness;

// MatteTextured
string Kd;
float2 s0;
float2 ds;

// Matte
float3 reflectance;

// Velvet
float backScattering;
float3 horizonScatteringColor;
float horizonScatteringFallOff;

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Cyril_D_
Beginner

Apologies, I just found out the header of each material describes its parameters.

Thanks again and sorry :)

0 Kudos
SvenW_Intel

Here some description of the parameters. But best play around with them to get a feeling of what they do.

//glass && Dielectric
float3 transmission is a color you can assign to the glass material