Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

ActiveX and API calls

leoprex
Beginner
I have got no help on my problem about COM module generated from ComDlg32.ocx. My objective was to utilize the stabdard Windows dialog for opening and saving files.
Nevertheless I have discovered through the very interesting site of Jugoslav Dujic that the same result can be obtained through a single API call. On that site a complete calling sequence is available: thank you Jugoslav. I am an experienced developer in Visual Basic. I am also an old programmer in FORTRAN on mainfraimes (at the time of perforated cards). Sometimes I use presently Visual Fortran, essentially in the case of reuse and renewal of ancient codes. At contrary Jugoslav seems to use Fortran as a first choice for new programs. This does not seem to me profitable with respect to VB. Which are the advantages of such a complicated and delicate programming language?

Message Edited by intel.software.network.support on 12-09-2005 01:58 PM

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Jugoslav_Dujic
Valued Contributor II
Well, it's hard to separate objective from subjective reasons; I can tell you my motives, but I guess there's no general answer and any answer you can get is inavoidably biased.

Well, Fortran is primarily intended for number-crunching but new features from Fortran-90 make it rather attractive as a general-purpose language as well. Unfortunately, there is lack of good GUI libraries for it (there are good ones like GINO or Winteracter, but IMO they're expensive). On the other hand, a good knowledge of Windows API gives you deeper understanding on how the system works and feeling of exactly knowing what you're doing in every moment. However, the API is complicated and sometimes it is frustrating that one has to write quite a few lines of code for what seems to be a simple task.