Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28632 Discussions

C_calls_Fortran USEDLL "MSVCR80.dll was not found"

nflacey
Beginner
I'm new to ifortran and very rusty with Windows, has anyone seen this problem?

I'm trying to get the USEDLL example project to work. It compiles and links but doesn't execute, the following is displayed: "The application has failed to start because MSVCR80.dll was not found. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."

I'm able to get USELIB to work.

I'm using VS Express and an eval copy of Intel Fortran 9.1 both downloaded last week (today is Sunday 5/20).

Compiled FSUB.F90 ifort /dll /Zi /D_DLL FSUB.F90 and then copied FSUB.dll and FSUB.lib to ..C_calls|FortranUSEDLLDebug.

Added path to FSUB.lib to Project ... Properties ... Configuration Properties ... Linker ... Additional Dependencies to get it to link

Thanks
Neil

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
I would have thought that VC++ Express would install MSVCR80.DLL as a shared assembly. Try downloading and installing this and see if helps.
0 Kudos
John4
Valued Contributor I
I've seen that one a lot of times before.

The message about the application failing to start because MSVCR80.dll was not found, is usually triggered by a mismatch in the manifest files (or, when upgrading from VS2003 to VS2005, the fact that there might be no manifest files); it has nothing to do with MSVCR80.dll being actually missing (surely, it's in some folder within WinSxS).

So, checking that the libraries, /threads option, etc., are the same, should solve the problem.

If the MSVCR80.dll hadn't been installed, the message box should say "The application has failed to start because there is a mismatch in the Manifest file. Checking the library paths may fix this problem".

0 Kudos
Jon_D
New Contributor I
Hello,