Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28652 Discussions

Coarse grain parallelization with OpenMP

Jon_D
New Contributor I

Hello,

I have a program that utilizes loop-level parallelization where the general idea is as follows:

[fortran]PROGRAM Main

!(...initialize an array...)

IF (test1_TRUE) THEN      
      ! (...do something...)

CALL Task1()

! (...do more things...)
  END IF

IF (test2_TRUE) THEN      
      ! (...do something...)

CALL Task2()

! (...do more things...)
  END IF
END

SUBROUTINE Task1()
  !$OMP PARALLEL DO
  DO indx=1,N
     ! (...calculations...)
  END DO
  !$OMP END PARALLEL DO
END SUBROUTINE Task1

SUBROUTINE Task2()
  !$OMP PARALLEL DO
  DO indx=1,M
     ! (...calculations...)
  END DO
  !$OMP END PARALLLEL DO
END SUBROUTINE Task2()[/fortran]

Although I am no expert, I am thinking that having two OpenMP PARALLEL DO constructs might lead to doubling of the overhead. I would like to move the PARALLEL DO to the main program, create the threads only once, and use these threads in the subroutines for the loop level parallelization when needed. This way I can also parallelize the array initialization in the main program. So, in general, I am trying to get something like this:

[fortran]PROGRAM Main
    !$OMP PARALLEL

!$OMP WORKSHARE
  !(...initialize an array...)
    !$OMP END WORKSHARE

!$OMP SINGLE
  IF (test1_TRUE) THEN      
      ! (...do something...)

CALL Task1()

! (...do more things...)
  END IF

IF (test2_TRUE) THEN      
      ! (...do something...)

CALL Task2()

! (...do more things...)
  END IF

!$OMP END SINGLE

!$OMP END PARALLEL
END

SUBROUTINE Task1()
  !$OMP DO
  DO indx=1,N
     ! (...calculations...)
  END DO
  !$OMP END DO
END SUBROUTINE Task1

SUBROUTINE Task2()
  !$OMP DO
  DO indx=1,M
     ! (...calculations...)
  END DO
  !$OMP END DO
END SUBROUTINE Task2()[/fortran]