Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Could not find a file to match the module name - Eclipse IDE

Luca_Doro
Beginner

Hi,

I am very little experience with the compiling process, but I am trying to learn little by little.

I am working under Ubuntu using Eclipse IDE integrated with Intel parallel studio XE 2016 composer edition for Fortran and I am having a problem in the build process. I managed to compile ad create the executable file of a program with only two source files, but now I would like to compile and create an executable for a program based on several .f90 files. The problem is that when I try to build the program I am having the following error: An internal error occurred during: "Build Project". Could not find a file to match the module name: MY_FILE.

I repeat that I have very little experience and probably I am doing some errors in very basic and simple points of the process. Can anyone help me?

Thanks

Luca

0 Kudos
8 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

I do not know whether or not Eclipse knows enough (about Fortran modules and their dependencies) to build source files in the proper order. In order to compile a source file that contains USE module_xyz statements, the source file that contains the definition of MODULE module_xyz has to have been compiled successfully.

0 Kudos
Luca_Doro
Beginner

Thanks for this hint.

I will look more information about Eclipse and modules and their dependencies. Hopefully it will solve my problem.

0 Kudos
Johannes_Rieke
New Contributor III

Hi Luca,

I experienced similar some time ago with Eclipse. I remember that the module have to be in its own file with the same name of this module (MyMod -> MyMod.f90) and that only one module per file is allowed. Have you tried this?

Maybe in newer Eclipse versions this is not necessary anymore, I would try it.

Regards, Johannes

0 Kudos