Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Debugger failure

Horsewood__Jerry

I am re-compiling a legacy Fortran 77 program using the Intel XE 2018 compiler with VS 2017 Community Edition. This is my first attempt at developing a project of F77 code, although I have other projects in F90 code. My problem is that I am unable to run the code in the IVF debugger. When I start the program without debugging, it runs to completion, although with data errors whose cause remains to be determined. When I start with debugging after setting a breakpoint at the first executable line of code, the program appears to start, the console window appears and a yellow arrow appears in the red dot at the breakpoint. But after a few seconds, the empty console window closes and the VS window closes momentarily before reappearing with the program terminated. No errors are reported. Does anyone have suggestions for resolving this issue?

0 Kudos
17 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Compile the program with all the compile time diagnostics, in particular argument checking. Correct any/all issues.

If the problem remains, you may have an issue with your AntiVirus program terminating the program. To correct for this, add the Debug (or x64\Debug) folder to the exclusion folders.

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
Horsewood__Jerry

I have compiled with all the compile time diagnostics and corrected all problems and no error messages are produced. Additionally, I have attempted to run while debugging with the anti-virus software disabled. In addition, I re-developed the project from scratch on the outside chance I had corrupted something the first time. After all this, the results remain unchanged.

0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

The behavior that you described suggests that the EXE that is being run under control of the debugger is missing debug support in some parts of it.