Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Decrease the computation time for DGELSD subroutine.

pankaj_p_
Novice

Hello all,

I am writing a code in fortran that involve computation of linear least squares (A^(-1)*b). For this I have used the subroutine "DGELSD". I am able to get the correct answer from my code. I have cross checked my solution with that of the data available from MATLAB. 

Now when it comes to the computation time, MATLAB is taking much less time than that of my .f90 code. The main motivation for me to write the .f90 code was to do heavy computations, as MATLAB was unable to handle this problem (as the matrix size is increased, it takes more and more time). I am talking of the order of matrix around (10^6 x 10^6).

I know that I may be lacking somewhere around the vectorization or parallelization of code (as I am new to it). But would it make any difference? As the subroutine "DGELSD" is already highly optimized. Also I am using Intel ifort compiler and visual studio as an editor.

I have attached the part of the main code below for reference. Please suggest what can be done to decrease the computation time. I am having good hardware configuration to run heavy computation. It is extremely required. Please help.

Workstation specification: Intel Xeon 32 core - 64 bit processor, 64 GB RAM. 

Code information:

a) I have used 'DGELSD' example available on Intel MKL example site..

b) I am using x64 architecture.

c) This is the code I am using in MATLAB for comparison

function min_norm_check(m,n)
tic
a=15*m*n;
b=15*m*n;
c=6;
A=rand(a,b);
B=rand(b,c);
C=A\B;
toc
end
! Program to check the time required to
! calculate linear least square solution 
! using DGELSD subroutine

PROGRAM MAIN

IMPLICIT NONE

INTEGER :: M,N,LDA,LDB,NRHS,NB,NG

REAL T1,T2,START,FINISH

DOUBLE PRECISION, DIMENSION (:,:), ALLOCATABLE :: D_CAP,A,B,TG,DG

INTEGER :: I=0

NB=10