Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28446 Discussions

Difficulties in obtaining .exe file from Fortran code in Visual Studio 2019

JSerra
Novice

I am experiencing some difficulties in generating an .exe file from a Fortran 77 code. I am running VS Community 2019 on Windows 10. I installed the 'Intel Fortran Compiler (Beta) & Intel Fortran Compiler Classic'.

I am new to Fortran (and compiled languages), and I am a structural engineering, so please apologize some basic errors I might be doing.

The steps to reproduce my problem are as follows:
1) Launch VS and create new empty project on a local folder C:\Users\USER\Workspaces\Fortran
2) Project > Add New Item > Fortran Fixed-form File (.for), which creates Source1.for visible on the Solution Explorer under Source Files.
3) Copy+Paste sample code (it creates and populates a new file data1.dat with some data).
4) Ctrl+S > Build > Build Solution

The Build is successful but the data1.dat is not created and I cannot run Debug\Console1.exe (System Error: The code execution cannot proceed because libmmdd.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem).

Is this a matter of reinstalling VS (or the compiler?) or am I doing something wrong? Perhaps I did not download the right Intel product?

I attached a .zip with the project.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JSerra
Novice

Problem solved: in Project > Properties > Cinfig Properties > Fortran > Libraries > Runtime Library, I changed from Multithread DLL (/libs:dll /threads) to Debug Multithreaded (/libs:static /threads /dbglibs). Then the .exe file runs normally and generates the intended file.

I hope for my (basic) use of VS this does not have collateral effects.

EDIT: see @Steve_Lionel 's warning regarding side effects.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
17 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III