Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Fortran and Win32 programming

p_p_1
Beginner

I'm not really experienced in Fortran, I tried unsuccessfully to call a Windows API function as a test (previously I tried some other tests such as locking the screen, with success).
The function is QueryProcessCycleTime (just for curiosity, it retrieves the cpu cycles count of a process, in my test code with a fixed pid of an actually existent process). Its syntax:

BOOL WINAPI QueryProcessCycleTime(
  _In_  HANDLE   ProcessHandle,
  _Out_ PULONG64 CycleTime
);

I couldn't find the Fortran "translation" for these data types and I tried several combinations in my code (for each variables) with no luck. I compiled with
ifort /libs:static /exe: ...   or
ifort /libs:qwin,static /exe: ...
but the output is always:
 F                  4936                     0
 (return value,  pid,  cycles count).

The function doesn't appear in the kernel32.f90 supplied by Intel (see Calling Windows API Routines for syntax not involving ISO_C_BINDING).

Going beyond the specific test I wondered if:
really Fortran can't load dlls supplying full path (without adding it as an environment variable)?
Or more in general and in a few words:

Can Fortran be used as a Win32 programming language?
(I don't mean only for a limited set of functions)

Or, at the end, is it (very, we know) useful only for number crunching?

My test code:

module process_cpu_cycles
use ISO_C_BINDING
implicit none

public QueryProcessCycleTime
interface
    function QueryProcessCycleTime(proc_id, cpu_cycles) bind(C,Name='QueryProcessCycleTime')
        use ISO_C_BINDING
        implicit NONE
        !DEC$ ATTRIBUTES STDCALL :: QueryProcessCycleTime
        logical(C_BOOL) :: QueryProcessCycleTime        ! tried C_INT too
        integer(C_INTPTR_T), value :: proc_id           ! tried without value