Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28703 Discussions

Help Required: Porting from VAX to Alpha

naveed_ahmed
Beginner
I am porting system made on VAX in Fortran 77 to Alpha system both running OpenVMS. Since I have very little background in Fortran, I seek help from experienced developers, I am getting severe problems with floating point numbers as code contain numerous statements like
Integer *2 X(2)
Real *4 Y

DATA X/'100000'O,'0'O/

EQUIVALENCE (X,Y)

this results in illegal floating point number in Alpha, and I cannot even trap the error that crashes the program. Does anybody have idea how to solve this problem. I badly need some help.

Thanks

Naveed
0 Kudos
15 Replies
james1
Beginner
First you have to figure out why these numbers are initialized in this fashion. This looks like an attempt to initialize the floating point number Y to an illegal value on the VAX. Sometimes what I have seen done is someone does this to distinguish between an initialized and uninitialized floating point value, where only the integer equivalent is checked to match this illegal value.

If the program is crashing then either this check isn't working or you have another problem besides this definition. Unless you are compiling on the Alpha with IEEE floating point format, the resulting floating point number should be illegal on both platforms, and therefore you should see an error on both platforms if the resulting floating point Y is used in a calculation. If you only see an error on the Alpha platform, then perhaps the error is due to something else. The debugger should be able to help you locate the error though.

James
0 Kudos
naveed_ahmed
Beginner