Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28603 Discussions

Help for compilation of F03GL with IVF

glantoin
Beginner
Hello all !

I am a PhD student and I would like to compile the F03GL interface (developed by Anthony Stone and Aleksandar Donev) in Visual Studio 2005 and IVF 11 (on Windows) for my research (I want to plot graphics with OpenGL in Fortran). F03GL uses the C Interoperability features of Fortran 2003 and binds to the C interface for OpenGL. However I am encountering some problems. Here is what I am doing:
- first I compile the interface source code files f03gl_gl.f90, f03gl_glu.f90, OpenGL_freeglut.f90, OpenGL_gl.f90, OpenGL_glu.f90, GLUT_fonts.c to obtain the corresponding object files
- then I include those files in a Visual Fortran project, along with one test example (sphere.f90 for instance). I also make sure that the linker links to the Windows Opengl libraries (I found those libraries in one of the directories of Visual Studio: OpenGL32.lib, GLU32.lib, GLAux.lib). I also added FreeGLUT.lib I compiled myself before to use FreeGLUT.

But when I try to compile the whole thing, I get linker errors, for instance
error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _glClear referenced in function _display sphere.obj
error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _glutInit referenced in function _OPENGL_GLUT. OpenGL_freeglut.obj

Basically all the opengl and glut functions cannot be found by the linker... But I'm sure I'm including the opengl libraries in the relevant properties of the project.

Do you have an idea of what the problem might be ? Maybe you encountered the same kind of problem before. I am really stuck, I don't know what to do... I don't want to use the standard f90GL interface library because I need to use freeGLUT instead of GLUT.

Thanks a lot in advance !

Gregory
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee