Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Help for unexperienced user

tintin77
Beginner
Hi, I just installed a Linux OS on my computer, I have never used Linux before. I have also never progammed with Fortran before. I downloaded the Intel package but haven't installed it yet. I haven't installed it because I don't know if I need it. I need some help from you experienced users. I would really like to try some Fortran. I have some code for several programs I'd like to run. The problem is I don't know how to go about starting. Do I need to install the Intel package? I have been told that the "developer" tools that came with my Linux package, Libranet, might be able to do what I need. But I don't know how to use those tools that came with my Linux. Can I cut and paste the Fortran code that I have into a document? I guess I need a little instruction on how to create and run a Fortran program as I have never done it before. (I have always used Apples at school and we don't get to do anything with them). Is the Intel package I downloaded the easiest way to get started? If I like the programs I already have code for I would sure like to try to make my own and any help I can get from you experienced programmers would really help. Thank you.
tintin77
kyledolson@hotmail.com
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
I'm certainly not an experienced Linux user, but I'll try to get you started.

If you want to create Fortran programs, you'll need a Fortran compiler. The Intel Fortran compiler is a good choice. You will need to install it first, as described in the Intel documentation.

Generally, you would use your favorite text editor to create a file containing your Fortran source - name the file with a .f90 file type if it contains Fortran "free form" source, or .f if it has "fixed form" source. The book you're using to learn Fortran will explain this.