Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28701 Discussions

IMSL Intel Parallel Studio Xe 2011 Fortran

rafnuaf
Beginner
I used to use Fortran77 many years ago in windows; but now I am starting agoin, but now I am using Intel Parallel Studio Xe 2011 in Ubuntu 2 days ago, so I am a poor beginner (in Intel and Ubuntu).

The think is that I don't have any idea how to use IMSL in this framework (I would like to get some tutorial, manual, whatever). Do I have to install ISML? Where can I get?.

I have a non-commercial license.

Thanks
0 Kudos
19 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
If you want to use IMSL on Linux with Intel Fortran, you will have to purchase it from Visual Numerics and request support from VNI. Intel does not offer IMSL on Linux.

You may want to look at Intel Math Kernel Library, which is included with Intel Parallel Studio XE, to see if it has routines that meet your needs.
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III
According to the site about IMSL Fortran support, Ubuntu doesn't appear to be included, and the ifort version they support is 11.1.
0 Kudos
Michal_Kvasnicka
Beginner
Why INTEL support only IMSL for Windows? Is there any serious technical resaon or only licensing matters?
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
Given that there are so many Linux distributions, of which VNI supports only a few, and the smaller market share of Linux compared to Windows, the position of Intel on supporting IMSL only on Windows seems reasonable.
0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
Our offer of a bundle with IMSL on Windows is largely historical. Microsoft Fortran PowerStation did it, therefore Digital/Compaq Visual Fortran did it, and therefore Intel Visual Fortran did it. We did not have this history of offering IMSL on Linux and the demand seemed too low to start it.