Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Implied DO LOOP in READ statement

Paul_C_5
Beginner

Hi - newbie here!

Here are three lines of a text file

2                                 !nwpoints
100,4500                                 !below xwpoint(i) and then wave data file & shift for wave data
PT_1week.dat,F_1week.dat                        !wave file name

Here is some code to read the file

READ(LunSte,*)nWPoints
if (deb.eq.1)  write(*,*) 'n wave points',nWPoints
READ(LunSte,*) (XWPoint(N),N=1,nWPoints) !Read xposition for the wave points     
if (deb.eq.1)  write(*,*) 'wave points', (XWPoint(N),N=1,nWPoints)   
READ(LunSte, *)(NameWaveFile(N),N=1,nWPoints)  !Read File names for each wave point

It runs successfully on one system (compiler/OS/etc) with the NameWaveFile array containing “PT_1week.dat” and “F_1week.dat” as one might expect.

On my system (of course) the first two reads work fine -  so nWPoints is 2 and the XWPoint array contains 100 and 4500 accordingly … but…. the third read results in the first element of NameWaveFile containing:

"PT_1week.dat F_1week.dat " (NB no comma but two spaces)

in the first element and

"F_1week.dat " (NB a space at the end)

in the second element.

My system is Visual Studio 2012 running a 64 bit version of the Intel Fortran 2013 compiler and the code is 64 bit.

The one that works is Visual Studio 2010 running a 32 bit version of the Intel Fortran compiler and the code is 32 bit.

Help gratefully received :-}  I suspect this is a bug in something rather than sensible behaviour

Thanks
Paul

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Simon_Geard
New Contributor I

What is the declaration for NameWaveFile?

0 Kudos
andrew_4619
Honored Contributor II