Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Integrals

ericcf
Beginner
hello everybody,

I'm new in Fortran and I'm trying to clear some things in my mind regarding the program since there are many times feeling like lost in space.

My problem is that I want to write a program in order to evaluate a simple (defined) integral and I don't know from where to start.

it will be very helpfull if somebody could give me a hand on this. so?
0 Kudos
3 Replies
isn-removed200637
1) Get yourself a FORTRAN primer.
2)Understand the behaviour of the function of an independant variable that will be your integrand, by plotting it out for the range over which you want to integrate.
3) choose your method for approximation of a finite integral: e.g. Simpson's rule using the integrand evaluated at equispaced values of the independant variable
4)Once you know if the function is smooth, or once you know where it has rapid changes of gradient, you can choose the approximate size of the interval between points so that you have several points covering the region of greatest rate of change of gradient. This is to ensure some reasonable accuracy for the integration.

Then draw a flow diagram representing the stages of your computation as follows:

5)select the lower and upper limits of integration, divide the difference by this initial approximate interval, round the number up to the nearest integer to get an integer number of intervals, divide the actual range by this integer to get exact interval. Add 1 to get the number of points including both end points.
6) Initialise to zero a variable to store the running total
7)Starting at the first point, evaluate the integrand at that point, multiply it by the required weight for that point and add the product to the running total