Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28446 Discussions

Integration failure between Parallel Studio XE 2017 Update 4 Cluster Ed. and VS Community 2017

Manuel_Matias_M_
Beginner

Hello,

I have installed  VS Community 2017 and  Parallel Studio XE 2017 Update 4 Cluster Ed. 

No problems on the installation (except   before I realize that I need also  Desktop development with C++ component.)

I have a program on Fortran. So, I create a project (Create a Project from existing Fortran code. Then two options:

1) If I compile without adding files, when I run the program (debug), It cannot find the project. 

2) If I compile adding all files, when I run the program, it says it cannot find rc.exe not found

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Manuel_Matias_M_
Beginner

I am new at Fortran, so silly mistakes might apply

0 Kudos
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Did you in fact select "Desktop Development with C++ from the VS2017 install? If not, run the VS installer again and select this from the first page. I ran through this exact scenario just a few days ago.

0 Kudos
Manuel_Matias_M_
Beginner

I uninstalled both VS Community 2017 and PSXE Cluster update 4. I installed VS with "Desktop Development with C++ from first installation page. I then installed PSXE. Still I'm having the same problem.... rc.exe not found.

Additionally, I create the project using x64 or using the default x86 and then using the configuration manager. 

0 Kudos
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Search your C disk for rc.exe. If you properly installed VS2017 you should find one copy in a folder with a name similar to:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\bin\10.0.15063.0\x86

and one in:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\bin\10.0.15063.0\x64