Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28629 Discussions

Is FORTRAN still an active language. Should we convert to a "newer" language?

jlgilber
Beginner
I was asked this question as part of a risk analysis that was done on our systems. For anyone who is willing, I would appreciate a response to this message with the type of business that you are in. Any additional information, number of applications written in FORTRAN, etc would be helpful as well. I work in the electric energy industry.
Thanks in advance........
0 Kudos
7 Replies
wfroese
Beginner
I can't wait to read the replies that you get here. :-)
My practice recently went through a risk analysis of our FORTRAN/VB apps that support our Defined Benefit Pension practices. We have a number of them where the 'work' or the goal of the app is to get the data and settings to run through the FORTRAN calculation engines.
I can tell you that a number of pension consulting firms have FORTRAN calculation engines for various purposes.
In the end, my firm decided that while we could keep these applications we would - they are the best choice. Our fall back would be if the team scattered, we'd ditch our great apps because it would be too hard to get people with pension + FORTRAN knowledge who could pick up the program. There are commercial versions in the marketplace that would suffice.
I can tell you that I haven'tstarted 1 new FORTRANcenteredapp since .NET arrived in 2002 and I wouldn't start one. I also am not going to leave the code I have in FORTRAN - it has been pounded on for a decade and is proven and that is worth a lot. It is fast and it is right and that's what you want for calculations. My development plans include C#, VB.Net but they will be calling someFORTRAN components because it makes sense still but anything new will sacrifice the speed of FORTRAN for the legions of C#/VB.NET people available.
0 Kudos