Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28593 Discussions

Non commercial Intel Fortran Compiler for Mac OS X

aerorahul
Beginner
Does Intel provide free download for non commercial use of the fortran compiler for Mac OS X ? If so, can anyone provide the link? The page I visited only provides for Linux. http://www3.intel.com/cd/software/products/asmo-na/eng/340679.htm

I am a student and the student pricing is still on the higher end for me to be able to buy the product for academic use.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
jdrodrig
Beginner
If it helps, I just wanted to say that as a student also I found that dual-booting linux (ubuntu) and using intel's compiler for linux has turned out a good option for me.

0 Kudos
Ron_Green

At this time there is no non-commercial version of our compiler forMac OS.

Intel will soon come out with a new licensing model for students and academic licenses.

I'm meeting with our marketing folks in the next couple of days. I will ask about the Mac OS non-comm and reply back.

ron

0 Kudos
aerorahul
Beginner
Thanks Ron.
I anxiously wait for your reply.
It seems like a good marketing strategy that, if Intel wants more and more Mac users to buy their fortran compiler, it would be best for them to let them use non-commercial licenses to develop reportire and test the stability of the compiler on the Mac Intel Chipset.

Thanks again.
0 Kudos
cfgold
Beginner
Dear Ron,

Hello. I have been following this thread anxiously. Is there any update on if/when a non-commerical ifort for Mac will be released? Like the original poster, I am student, and I would love to be able to use ifort on my Mac.

Thanks!
C
0 Kudos
Ron_Green

I apologize for the delay - it has been busy here because of the product launch.